Posts by GravityDept

774 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says






What happens when an author offers support but chooses not to sell support packs (because it’s a bad idea)? Are we going to see a giant red warning instead?

THIS ITEM IS NOT SUPPORTED

We do notice the giant boot Envato is raising over our toes.
Unfortunately yes – in previous discussions staff said there is no opt-out of extended support offer if you choose to support, you would have to opt-out of support.
Seriously!? Good grief…..
For reals, official response here
So basically, it’ll say we don’t support – if we don’t do it Envato’s way?
Sure seems that way. That certainly leaves a bad taste in your mouth right!?

My mouth only tastes bad these days. I’m calling it Envato mouth.

Ridiculous reality: I’ll just opt-in so I don’t get a stupid “not supported” label all over my work. Then on my profile and item pages I’ll tell people not to buy the support packs because it changes nothing with regard to my support. I’ll charge for updates on my site (because that has value) and do good support there.

I’ll earn exactly what I think my work is worth, and Envato can keep playing yo-yo with buyers’ expectations and authors’ livelihoods.

774 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

What happens when an author offers support but chooses not to sell support packs (because it’s a bad idea)? Are we going to see a giant red warning instead?

THIS ITEM IS NOT SUPPORTED

We do notice the giant boot Envato is raising over our toes.

774 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

My thoughts haven’t changed:

So glad I built the platform to sell products (with paid updates) from my website.

I’ll be opting out of this mess in a heartbeat, and giving my customers the support they deserve and the updates they need on terms set for my business.

774 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

Honestly, this isn’t very good. Should’ve been designed mobile-first so the hierarchy makes sense. It’s just the desktop layout crammed column after column with the description truncated.

How did this possibly take 2 months? It’s literally 10 lines of CSS and JS.

Still no utility classes, no PICTURE support, and no SRCSET support. That’s what authors actually need. That should’ve taken a few hours at most to implement and document.

See: http://themeforest.net/forums/thread/coming-up-responsive-item-page-what-authors-need-to-know/167485?page=1&message_id=1233023#1233023

Not to mention ramming the tab-nav into a SELECT menu. That’s the absolute laziest approach and Envato reviewers would reject it in a second. Not surprised but still disappointed.

774 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

Just be sure you read all that you are expected to do when installing themes and work out your taxes and Envato’s commission from the $50 a customer pays – works out for US based providers to be around $24 total earning. You should ensure you are comfortable with that.

Really tough decision:

Earn $24 (what Envato thinks my time is worth) via Envato Studio, follow whatever “rules” are imposed, and be subject to rating abuse.

OR

Earn $100 (what I think an installation is worth to buyers who can’t do it themself) independently, define my own terms, and handle customer support myself.

Authors need the ability to opt-out of install services being offered on our products — full stop. Envato doesn’t have the right to sell services on products we own the copyright to.

774 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

It’s all about the preference of the theme authors.

Umm, no. Authors have asked Envato for years to ditch the thumbnail grid, and present a list of products using the 500×390 preview image that every product is required to have.

The thumbnail + hover UI is a waste of time for buyers, and it makes authors less effective at showing their product.

774 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

WordPress Express Installation survey is out: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/LSFM298

Why is this suddenly a WordPress-only discussion and the survey boots non-WP authors? This affects all theme authors. I lied past the first question to give my feedback because I don’t want the WP community defining this for everyone.

774 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

A few weeks ago, I contacted Envato support + emailed Akshay to escalate the issue. I never heard back from him. When support finally answered (5 days later), this is the message I got:

The Elite program has moved on from Akshay as well, so that may be why there was no response.

So Dan left, Akshay apparently never got started, and nobody is leading the Elite program now.

774 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

We have little control over the millions of item descriptions that currently exist. The readability of each item description relies on authors setting it up so that it will be maintained on mobile and tablets once we’ve made the page responsive.

You have it backwards. The restrictions Envato has on item descriptions makes authors anemic and encourages bad practices. Why not build us proper tools?

A — Provide better typographic styling for base elements.

B — Create and publish a pattern library of layout, component, and typographic classes specifically for authors to use within the item description so we don’t have to rely on images and inline elements.

C — Build a way for authors to upload media so it’s optimized and served from Envato’s CDN.

D — Let us use PICTURE and SRCSET for responsive images instead of stripping them out. No brainer.

We are developers. Responsive design isn’t magic that Envato does. We’ve been doing it for years, so it’s grating to hear your only suggestion to make item pages responsive is chastising authors for image optimization. And shame on authors for suggesting a totally different set of mobile content.

Envato needs to step up, and give authors the capability to make flexible item descriptions. We’re waiting on you.

774 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

Summary: great for Envato, maybe good for buyers, and much worse for authors.

Right now — I offer an installation service. I define the terms, requirements, and price. I decide when to accept, decline, and refund customers. I only install my items because I know them back-to-front and guarantee I’ll set them up properly. I can start/stop any time. I keep all the profits.

Why would authors want to pay Envato (another) 30%, take their freedom of choice, hide their customer info, and give tons of Envato Studio people free access to their products?

by
by
by
by
by
by