Posts by GravityDept

777 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

Envato, if you don’t hear us Authors, at least listen to the Buyers

WE ARE NOT THINGS

Envato is pushing us all down Fury Road. Out here, everything hurts. You wanna get through this? Do as I say. Now pick up what you can and run.

777 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

@ UBLThemes: It will be kept up to date, but I’m distributing the updates. Buying a license from ThemeForest won’t require you to make another purchase to access new features. It’s the same item. Buyers will pay for continued support in the form of updates (which is 100% the author’s discretion according to Envato’s terms).

777 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says


My mouth only tastes bad these days. I’m calling it Envato mouth.

Ridiculous reality: I’ll just opt-in so I don’t get a stupid “not supported” label all over my work. Then on my profile and item pages I’ll tell people not to buy the support packs because it changes nothing with regard to my support. I’ll charge for updates on my site (because that has value) and do good support there.

I’ll earn exactly what I think my work is worth, and Envato can keep playing yo-yo with buyers’ expectations and authors’ livelihoods.
I 100% agree with you, I am 110% against this paid support move, but you do realise that selling updates for a theme which is on themeforest.net is against Envato’s exclusivity agreement?

I’m selling the updates not the item, which remains exclusive. It’s the same as selling priority support or customization externally. Updates are not a requirement to sell any item at Envato (look how many abandoned items are still for sale because of this) so they have no right to object to selling updates. Or I’ll just go non-exclusive and undercut them 10% while keeping 100% of the profit. That’s where Envato is pushing authors.

777 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says






What happens when an author offers support but chooses not to sell support packs (because it’s a bad idea)? Are we going to see a giant red warning instead?

THIS ITEM IS NOT SUPPORTED

We do notice the giant boot Envato is raising over our toes.
Unfortunately yes – in previous discussions staff said there is no opt-out of extended support offer if you choose to support, you would have to opt-out of support.
Seriously!? Good grief…..
For reals, official response here
So basically, it’ll say we don’t support – if we don’t do it Envato’s way?
Sure seems that way. That certainly leaves a bad taste in your mouth right!?

My mouth only tastes bad these days. I’m calling it Envato mouth.

Ridiculous reality: I’ll just opt-in so I don’t get a stupid “not supported” label all over my work. Then on my profile and item pages I’ll tell people not to buy the support packs because it changes nothing with regard to my support. I’ll charge for updates on my site (because that has value) and do good support there.

I’ll earn exactly what I think my work is worth, and Envato can keep playing yo-yo with buyers’ expectations and authors’ livelihoods.

777 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

What happens when an author offers support but chooses not to sell support packs (because it’s a bad idea)? Are we going to see a giant red warning instead?

THIS ITEM IS NOT SUPPORTED

We do notice the giant boot Envato is raising over our toes.

777 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

My thoughts haven’t changed:

So glad I built the platform to sell products (with paid updates) from my website.

I’ll be opting out of this mess in a heartbeat, and giving my customers the support they deserve and the updates they need on terms set for my business.

777 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

Honestly, this isn’t very good. Should’ve been designed mobile-first so the hierarchy makes sense. It’s just the desktop layout crammed column after column with the description truncated.

How did this possibly take 2 months? It’s literally 10 lines of CSS and JS.

Still no utility classes, no PICTURE support, and no SRCSET support. That’s what authors actually need. That should’ve taken a few hours at most to implement and document.

See: http://themeforest.net/forums/thread/coming-up-responsive-item-page-what-authors-need-to-know/167485?page=1&message_id=1233023#1233023

Not to mention ramming the tab-nav into a SELECT menu. That’s the absolute laziest approach and Envato reviewers would reject it in a second. Not surprised but still disappointed.

777 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

Just be sure you read all that you are expected to do when installing themes and work out your taxes and Envato’s commission from the $50 a customer pays – works out for US based providers to be around $24 total earning. You should ensure you are comfortable with that.

Really tough decision:

Earn $24 (what Envato thinks my time is worth) via Envato Studio, follow whatever “rules” are imposed, and be subject to rating abuse.

OR

Earn $100 (what I think an installation is worth to buyers who can’t do it themself) independently, define my own terms, and handle customer support myself.

Authors need the ability to opt-out of install services being offered on our products — full stop. Envato doesn’t have the right to sell services on products we own the copyright to.

777 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

It’s all about the preference of the theme authors.

Umm, no. Authors have asked Envato for years to ditch the thumbnail grid, and present a list of products using the 500×390 preview image that every product is required to have.

The thumbnail + hover UI is a waste of time for buyers, and it makes authors less effective at showing their product.

777 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+4 more
GravityDept
says

WordPress Express Installation survey is out: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/LSFM298

Why is this suddenly a WordPress-only discussion and the survey boots non-WP authors? This affects all theme authors. I lied past the first question to give my feedback because I don’t want the WP community defining this for everyone.

by
by
by
by
by
by