Posts by jordan-lewis

39 posts
  • Member of the Envato Team
  • Located in Australia
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
+1 more
jordan-lewis
Envato team
says

We recently rolled out a responsive homepage and announced plans that ‘search results’ and ‘item detail’ pages were to follow in the coming months.

We are now happy to announce that the work has begun on converting the ‘item details’ page.

Challenges we face

One of the biggest challenges we face in making Envato Market responsive is how we handle user-generated content. Authors have the freedom to build their item page descriptions using basic HTML elements and custom images hosted on their own servers.

Many of these images contain embedded text which will likely become unreadable as the image is scaled down on smaller devices. Also many item pages have been built to perfectly fit our legacy 616px description container and there is a good chance that this will have unwanted effects if the width was to change.

Another performance challenge we face is that many user-generated images are unoptimised, which leads to bigger downloads and slower item pages: it’s not uncommon for item pages to exceed 5mb. If you’re unsure about the best way to optimise images for your item and portfolio pages, we recommend you check out our Image Performance Tips For Authors.

When will the responsive item page be live?

We estimate to have this page live in the next month or so, but we will make sure we give notice to authors before we launch.

What do I need to do?

We have little control over the millions of item descriptions that currently exist. The readability of each item description relies on authors setting it up so that it will be maintained on mobile and tablets once we’ve made the page responsive.

Potential issues to be aware of if you have customised item descriptions

Item preview images with embedded text:
What do they look like when resized to 320px?

Images with embedded text
Text can become unreadable when resized on smaller devices e.g. screenshots of ratings/reviews (avoid if possible).

Images stacked side-by-side
These will wrap onto different lines as the viewport gets narrower.

Images and text side-by-side
These will wrap onto different lines as the viewport gets narrower.

Using tables e.g <table>
By their nature tables are not responsive and won’t allow for content to wrap.

Optimise image sizes
The smaller the page weight the better experience it will be for buyers.

What if I don’t have time to update?

Hopefully a month will be long enough for you to make any necessary changes. Since we see around 10% of our usage coming through mobile and tablet devices, we believe it is in the best interest of authors to update their page to help increase their sales through these channels. However, if you don’t have time or are finding it challenging we will also provide the ability to opt-out of having a responsive item page.

How will Opt-Out work?

On launch all item pages will be switched to responsive view by default, and you’ll find the option to opt-out in the ‘edit’ tab for each item. Opting out means buyers will get a non-responsive (desktop only) version of your item page. You can opt back in at any time once you’re ready.

Note: The ability to opt-out will not be available until this feature has been released.

Please let us know if you have any questions. Thanks!

39 posts
  • Member of the Envato Team
  • Located in Australia
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
+1 more
jordan-lewis
Envato team
says

Hi everyone,

Today we are rolling out a new responsive homepage which we have just announced on the Market Blog.

As a first cut we have only adapted the existing homepage design to be responsive, but having done so given ourselves a solid foundation to experiment and make measured improvements upon.

Whilst there is no visual difference for desktop users we are mindful of what we show on smaller devices whilst still giving our authors maximum promotion.

I also highly recommend reading the article “Making the Envato Marketplaces Responsive” if you are interested in the technical challenges we face.

We are open to feedback, however we do ask that you please contribute in a way that’s respectful, constructive and in line with our guidelines.

Thanks for your cooperation!
Jordan

39 posts
  • Member of the Envato Team
  • Located in Australia
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
+1 more
jordan-lewis
Envato team
says

george-olaru this has now been corrected. Thanks for your help!

39 posts
  • Member of the Envato Team
  • Located in Australia
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
+1 more
jordan-lewis
Envato team
says

Hi george-olaru,

Thanks for bringing this bug to our attention. Would you please be able to send me the url of the item that is having this issue?

39 posts
  • Member of the Envato Team
  • Located in Australia
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
+1 more
jordan-lewis
Envato team
says

I click on the “Purchase” button, the screen goes gray with the word “Loading..” in the center, and there it sits for eternity.

Hi TomB1959,

The issue your describing sounds like something is going wrong with the Ajax request for the modal in your browser.

I’m running the same OS and browser versions as your self and have no troubles.

If you’re still experiencing this problem would you be able to check if there are any errors in the Dev Tools console or even the ‘Network’ -> ‘XHR’ tab and report them back here please?

Also could you also please check:
  • If the ‘Add to collection’ button / modal is broken too?
  • If any specific browser plugin could be interfering and causing this issue
As in the meantime, you can always disable Javascript in your browser and you should be able to complete the purchase.

Hopefully we can get to the bottom of this issue for you :-)

Jordan

39 posts
  • Member of the Envato Team
  • Located in Australia
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
+1 more
jordan-lewis
Envato team
says

Hi jblions and DazeinCreative

Thanks for reporting this issue. Could you please confirm that the issue is still happening for you in IE and/or Firefox?

Cheers, Jordan

39 posts
  • Member of the Envato Team
  • Located in Australia
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
+1 more
jordan-lewis
Envato team
says

Hey this duplicate issue has come up again, last few comments have gone out twice. Also noticing replied comments are disappearing straight away, previously these useto linger for a minute so we could review our reply / fix formatting (I still can’t get line breaks right first go).

Hey dtbaker, thanks for bringing this to our attention.

I’ve tried to replicate the issue but unfortunately am unable to see the same issue. Is this happening consistently every time? If possible would you please be able to send me some more information on your setup to help to narrow down the issue:

  • OS + browser versions
  • Any console errors you see in the developer tools
  • Any XHR response errors also

Cheers,
Jordan

39 posts
  • Member of the Envato Team
  • Located in Australia
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
+1 more
jordan-lewis
Envato team
says

Hey sightsignal (and others who were having the FireFox icon problem),

We have tried another encoding method for the icon fonts. As we are unable to reproduce this on our end could you please let us know if the issue returns.

Hopefully we can narrow down the cause so we don’t have this issue anymore.

39 posts
  • Member of the Envato Team
  • Located in Australia
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
+1 more
jordan-lewis
Envato team
says

Hi @dedalx, thanks for your feedback. We have investigated the issue and are working on fix which will deploy soon.

39 posts
  • Member of the Envato Team
  • Located in Australia
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
+1 more
jordan-lewis
Envato team
says

Hi everyone, thanks for your feedback.

We have investigated the issue and it seems our script loader is having some issues in FireFox. We are working on fix and will post an update soon when it’s deployed.

by
by
by
by
by
by