742 posts
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
  • Located in United Kingdom
+7 more
josweb says

Hello all! I’ve had an enquiry about designing an e-commerce site for a florists. I’m pretty new to this type of design and was wondering which is the better shopping cart? I can see that on TF Magneto is pretty popular. Any advice would be happily accepted.. Also, does anyone know of a good theme for this type of project?

636 posts Magento Elite & Gravity Maker
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 4 years
+3 more
GravityDept says

Magento is the fastest growing and widest adopted open source platform. It’s also owned/funded by eBay/PayPal, so it receives the backing necessary for an open source product to thrive. If you’re choosing an eCommerce platform for your client you should be asking several things:

1. Is there room to grow?
  2. Will the platform be maintained in several years?
  3. Is there an active extension and theme community?
  4. Can the client afford to maintain the site?
742 posts
+7 more
josweb says

Many thanks for your advice. Is it an easy set up for a client to add their own products?

+3 more
GravityDept says

Yes, but that will be virtually the same for any CMS. You should try the demo or install it for yourself to test it out.

742 posts
+7 more
josweb says

Yes, but that will be virtually the same for any CMS. You should try the demo or install it for yourself to test it out.

Thanks GravityDept!

488 posts
  • Has referred 1+ members
  • Has sold $40,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has been a beta tester for an Envato feature
  • Has collected 100+ items on Envato Market
+7 more
PixelBuffet says