4334 posts Community Mod Building awesome stuff for your mobile devices!
  • Has referred 100+ members
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has been a beta tester for an Envato feature
  • Has collected 1+ items on Envato Market
+14 more
Enabled Moderator says
Recently, I’ve noticed a strange pattern happening due to some of our fellow members who feel the need to start a fire when there is none. Some of our fellow members believe that Moderators and Staff alike are pro-censorship, when that is not the case, so, I’m going to take some time off from work, to explain why we lock or disable threads, and why some of my fellow forum members use the term censorship wrongly. I’m going to describe a normal locking procedure (yes, it implies clicking a button, but it’s not as easy as you may think), and why I personally, lock threads:

Case 1: Foul language

First of, I’m an author, like all of you, and if you haven’t noticed, all moderators are, the interesting fact is that some staff members are authors here as well, so, having the voice of the masses heard, regardless how strange their argument is, is very important. But some of you have pointed out, that in the recently locked thread about support, staff have stepped in and removed comments. You must understand that cursing on the forums, is forbidden, even if you use stars and hash tags to hide the word. We’re all grown up here, we all know our way around the internet, so, using the a four letter word that starts with F and has 2 stars in between, won’t fool anyone.Consider the forum being 100% foul word allowed, what sort of impression would you leave to your buyers? What impression do you leave your buyers when you use stars, and of course, what impression do you leave buyers when in a post you attack the masses and stereotype everyone. Consider staff using the same language towards you, I believe you’d feel outraged and angered, well, you fellow authors and buyers feel the same way when entering a thread as im