1282 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 6 years
  • Has collected more than 1000 items on Envato Market
  • Helped several times protecting Envato Market against copyright violations
graphic4444 says

quick question, being a cynic, to make a project look popular, are authors allowed to buy 1-2 of their own projects as soon as it’s released, to make it artificially look like it’s a popular project? that’s not ethical; just wanted to find out if that ever happens, or is disallowed.

eg if I’m an author and nobody buys my project, it might be tempting to “buy it” myself a couple of times for social proof to goose the numbers to make it appear popular, to try and induce others to buy it (like fake twitter followers/buying those).

on similar topic do/can authors create fake accounts to give fake positive reviews of their own projects?

IP address checking could help minimize all that… just sayin’ ... does it happen guys?

1107 posts inlifethrill
  • Has referred 200+ members
  • Has sold $250,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
+10 more
InlifeThrill says

I think it is impossible to purchase your own file. However, even if you did – you will have to trade money for some positive statistics. Still don’t think it is worth it. You could always ask someone else to buy a file for you, thus getting around the “you cannot purchase your own file” thing.. and the ip scenario if it exist. It is not ethical, it is not fair. Personally – I did once buy files for someone else.. as it was an emergency. I’d rather not do it again. Truth is it is not “illegal”, it is a moral question.

5172 posts
  • Provided great contribution to our forums
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
+12 more
felt_tips Moderator says