• Sold between 250 000 and 1 000 000 dollars
  • Germany
  • Repeatedly Helped protect Envato Marketplaces against copyright violations
  • Has been a member for 2-3 years
  • Exclusive Author
  • Bought between 100 and 499 items
  • Referred between 200 and 499 users
minti says

Hey guys, I’m just curious about how many of you are working full-time on WordPress themes? If so, how do you manage your business? Do you have an office or working at home? Do you work 8hours a day 5 days a week, or just finish a theme in one week and hang around another 3 weeks? How do you appraise how much you will earn the next month and how do you live with the risk to be a part of something you can’t control?

Thanks, minti

2509 posts Put a Donk On It
  • Exclusive Author
  • Elite Author
  • Attended a Community Meetup
  • Referred between 100 and 199 users
  • Contributed a Tutorial to a Tuts+ Site
+5 more
ThemeProvince says

I’m a full time author. It’s probably one of the best jobs to have being self employed.

11 posts Nice
  • Bought between 50 and 99 items
  • Elite Author
  • Exclusive Author
  • Referred between 10 and 49 users
  • United Kingdom
quitenicestuff says

I’m just starting out as an author and I’m doing it full time for now as I got made redundant from my last job awhile ago and didn’t really feel motivated to look for another one.

To be honest you can’t control any job you work in especially if your just a regular employee, I don’t think working on ThemeForest is much riskier than any full time job. Compared to many freelance gigs I’d even say its more stable.

185 posts I'm a Husky Designer
  • Won a Competition
  • Elite Author
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
  • Interviewed on the Envato Notes blog
  • Sold between 100 000 and 250 000 dollars
  • United States
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
designcrumbs says

Minti it looks like you’re doing quite well just off of your one theme for the past few months ;)