• Has been a member for 6-7 years
  • Elite Author
  • Author had a Free File of the Month
  • Beta Tester
  • Bought between 50 and 99 items
  • Germany
+4 more
elements says
Hey guys! I just need to see here am I only one who is doing this… I would like to know how do you start working on a project with a client and how do you manage your payments?

Normally when doing a website, for example, I take 30% down payment or escrow payment that is compensated for the time while doing the mockup. Point is, I do nothing till I see at least an escrow.

When I was a newbie I used to do a whole project without seeing a single cent, and that was the school I won’t forget, but that is a another story.

Anyway… I know I need to do it this way otherwise, the client can just say I’m going to drop the project, I’ve changed my mind, and my 15+ hours is left unpaid.

Few weeks ago I receive an inquiry about a website + trailer. I say a time period for making whole project, time period for the mockup, process of making, and now the price. The site must be wow effect but price is a bit to high, so I say ok, let’s stay within the budget. So now comes the part of 30% down payment or escrow payment. Again, the same… can I pay in a different way, like after I see the design, I will pay for sure, do not worry I’m honest, etc…