111 posts
  • Has referred 10+ members
  • Has sold $10,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
  • Made it to the Authors' Hall of Fame
+4 more
soundrepository says

Dear themeforest authors,

I have spent the last three days checking at least a hundred themes for a customer and I was shocked how many themes having IE8 compliance in their description actually looked like total crap on IE8 – I had cases that even completely crashed IE8.

May I kindly ask you to check your themes again and rethink if your theme really is IE8 compliant?! It was such an annoying procedure for me to walk through all those themes that were supposed to work on IE8 but actually didn’t.

Being a web developer myself I know that IE8 is a complete nightmare but now as IE8 compliance isn’t compulsory any more on themeforest – please do check your themes and adjust your descriptions.

thanks a lot in advance

Marco

248 posts
  • Has collected 100+ items on Envato Market
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 6 years
  • Located in United Kingdom
dwhitmore says

+1

I’ve experienced this same problem many times in the past too.

7370 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
  • Has sold $40,000+ on Envato Market
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
  • Located in Europe
+5 more
doru says

looks like ie8 support is optional

http://notes.envato.com/news/ie8-compliance-is-now-optional/

so if the theme doesn’t support that browser version should update the item options and exclude ie8.

90 posts
  • Has referred 200+ members
  • Has sold $500,000+ on Envato Market
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
+5 more
Net-Labs says

Agree on this one, you can’t forbid one to drive on the road just because he drives a crappy car.

even though IE8 is optional, I know of so many companies that still work on ie8 as standard in the office.

1341 posts
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market