612 posts
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 3-4 years
  • Sold between 10 000 and 50 000 dollars
ChapterThemes says

I’m trying to figure out possibilities and reasons for my plugins to rework them to use backbone.

I’m new to backbone and whenever i see some starter tutorial or a little more advanced one, i still can’t really find the real benefit of using backbone.

Most people say because of the wonderful data models you can set up with it and you don’t have to manipulate the DOM with hidden input fields etc.

But then i see some invoice calculator example with like 50 lines of code and all it does is calculates the total of a couple of checkboxes with a price behind it. And the example is trying to set a point why to use backbone for webapps etc.

Most of my plugins are using things like dynamically adding values for whatever, done with jquery and sometimes putting in hidden formfields to save the data.

How is backbone better for such usage?

If anyone has some good links please share!

1466 posts
  • Has been a member for 2-3 years
  • Exclusive Author
  • Referred between 1 and 9 users
  • Croatia
OriginalEXE says

+1

108 posts
  • Exclusive Author
  • United Kingdom
  • Most Wanted Bounty Winner
  • Envato Studio (Microlancer) Beta Tester
  • Referred between 1 and 9 users
  • Bought between 1 and 9 items
  • Has been a member for 1-2 years
designedbydash says

Pretty sure its main use comes in to play when creating complex JS apps. It provides the MVC concept in JS, in theory allowing for more structure and in turn making it easier to manage your app.

114 posts
  • Elite Author
  • Sold between 100 000 and 250 000 dollars
  • Exclusive Author
  • Bought between 100 and 499 items
  • Referred between 50 and 99 users
nagaemas says

I’ve previously written my page builder with jQuery-UI widget factory, and just short before release there was the new WordPress submission requirements!