151 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 6 years
  • Has sold $100+ on Envato Market
  • Has been a beta tester for an Envato feature
  • Has collected 50+ items on Envato Market
+1 more
Keenpixel says

Hi guys!

I would appreciate your thoughts and help…

I’m looking to upgrade my computer since my current system is seriously outdated! I don’t have a huge amount to spend however, so I’m looking for the best system that is fairly affordable (which means no Mac).

Of course I want something that can handle extensive graphics, CS4 , etc. since I’m a web and graphic designer. Also need to be able to use the internet and play a game or two. I know the reviews are varied, but I have my eye on the Dell XPS 8300 . What do you guys think?

Thanks!

1236 posts
  • Has referred 200+ members
  • Has sold $5,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 100+ items on Envato Market
  • Won a competition
+9 more
HarveyDesign says

You’ll get much more bang for your buck by building your own custom PC, Custom built PCs like “Dell” are in my opinion often over inflated in terms of price and tend to use low quality parts or parts that will be outdated in a few months thus you may consider upgrading some parts already.

Building your own PC is very easy these days and very satisfying when you know you’ve gotten so much more for less money. :)

116 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 3 years
  • Has referred 1+ members
  • Has sold $1,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
+4 more
_1981_ says

I’m not gonna start a Mac vs. PC debate but….

Don’t completely rule out the possibility of getting a Mac if you want one… you can find used Macs in great condition for much less than they cost new. I bought a 17” MacBook Pro more than 8 years ago and used it for 4 years before selling it to a friend for 1/3 what I paid for it and he still uses that computer today.