26 posts
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 1-2 years
  • Netherlands
  • Referred between 1 and 9 users
  • Sold between 5 000 and 10 000 dollars
KomiDesign says

Hi guys ! Recently i started playing with Bootstrap ( 2.3.2 version,witch i like better then 3 ,more simple to use in my opinion ) .So as i use it for my new theme that i intend to sell it here, i have a dilemma: What is the best method in customizing Bootstrap, directly or create another 2 different files ( ex: custom_bootstrap.css and custom_bootstrap_responsive.css ) ? Probably many of you will say that the method with custom files is better, but why should i still load the main file if i intend to customize most of the appearance code?

298 posts Design Innovation
  • Elite Author
  • Sold between 250 000 and 1 000 000 dollars
  • Has been a member for 2-3 years
  • Exclusive Author
  • Referred between 200 and 499 users
  • Microlancer Beta Tester
designova says

Hi, you may better go with custom stylesheet over-riding bootstrap. This will help users as it will be easy to edit such CSS files without affecting original bootstrap style files. Keep an eye on customising bootstrap’s native look and styles to suit your own design styles, this will be needed to add uniqueness on your work. Good luck!

579 posts
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 3-4 years
  • Sold between 10 000 and 50 000 dollars
ChapterThemes says

If you only use Bootstrap for your own development, meaning you don’t want to submit it as a bootstrap template or theme: Yes, i would just change the bootstrap file and make it your own with the parts you need and customize it like you want.

But, if you want to submit the template or theme like a bootstrap template/theme, and/or spread word it’s a bootstrap based/compatible template or theme: Keep de original file intact and customize by overriding in a separate file.

11 posts
  • Exclusive Author
Venmond says