• Sold between 10 000 and 50 000 dollars
  • Exclusive Author
  • Microlancer Beta Tester
  • Has been a member for 2-3 years
  • Referred between 1 and 9 users
  • Bought between 1 and 9 items
  • United States
GrizzleFX says

Today my $300 monitor broke, after the warranty conveniently expired a few weeks ago….

I really don’t want to buy a new monitor, I would much rather fix it, since I have nothing to lose anyway.

I’ve diagnosed the problem as a back-light malfunction, when I shined a flashlight on the monitor when it was turned on I could see what was supposed to be displayed. But I have no idea what to do now.

So does anyone have any useful hardware experience they would like to share? I have little experience with hardware, especially lcds. It would be greatly appreciated! :)

Specs of the monitor: Brand: Hannspree Model: HF257 25” (LCD)

1799 posts
  • Has been a member for 5-6 years
  • Germany
  • Exclusive Author
  • Repeatedly Helped protect Envato Marketplaces against copyright violations
  • Sold between 5 000 and 10 000 dollars
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
BroOf says

If you can hear sound but there is no image to see, it could be a damaged capacitor. I would open the TV and search for inflated capacitors.

637 posts SickFlyers.com
  • Elite Author
  • Most Wanted Bounty Winner
  • Grew a moustache for the Envato Movember competition
  • Sold between 100 000 and 250 000 dollars
  • Has been a member for 3-4 years
  • Referred between 1000 and 1999 users
+7 more
INDUSTRYKIDZ says

I dont want to give you bad news but its way cheaper to buy a new one then trying to fix it. hit it a couple time alot of thing work after a few hits !lol or find info on youtube! there a few videos on monitors

6765 posts
  • Italy
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
  • Beta Tester
  • Exclusive Author
  • Author had a Free File of the Month
+1 more
doru says
1716 posts
  • Sold between 5 000 and 10 000 dollars
  • Exclusive Author