• Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
  • Envato Studio (Microlancer) Beta Tester
  • Grew a moustache for the Envato Movember competition
  • India
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
azyrusmax says

Hi,

I’m a Graphic designer with no skills of coding, I’ve like 7 PSD themes selling here in Themeforest.

But I’m not selling well, a lot people are asking me to make WordPress version of the templates. So I need to contact a developer, and I did, we are working on a partnership of 50 – 50.

Making wordpress version takes mores than 2 months, but in the development process we don’t get any money. So sometimes the developer loose motivation :( (happened with me twice). I know that choosing a good developer might work here. but…

Can I ask my buyers who want to see the Wordpress version of my PSD theme for a payment or donation so that the developer get some money and it’ll help him stay motivated.

I know there’s is risk, what if the developer is unable to publish the content, don’t worry, we will show you 2 or 3 pages of the website that’s been already made.

I’m asking all this cause I want to know if I can do this, I know that it’s against Themeforest policies or they don’t have it mentioned in their policy yet :)

It would be a really good feature for developers who works here in themeforest, so they can pay their monthly bills without worrying.

If themeforest make this kind of features available to authors that would be really helpful.

566 posts
  • Has been a member for 1-2 years
AlexFjord says

This is a joke right? You want people to pre pay on a promise of delivery? What guarantee (2 or 3 pages makes little difference) especially when just because a page is coded does not mean it will pass submission which is probably even more de motivating for an author- then what? Do people keep “investing” until it passes?