• Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Interviewed on the Envato Notes blog
  • Romania
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 2-3 years
  • Contributed a Tutorial to a Tuts+ Site
  • Sold between 1 000 and 5 000 dollars
CleanScript says

Hi, I’m writing because I studied the source code of some free files since a few months ago and looked at the source of some html/js files and was amazed of the result so I want to ask Envato, the authors, reviewers and even the clients, why? the design standards are so high still crapy code is accepted. what do I mean about crappy code?

First, WordPress

Themes are not fully compatible with WordPress. I can tell even by viewing the html of any recent preview. Scripts and styles are not being registered properly, theme directory url paths are not retrieved properly, third party scripts are added when wordpress functionality does exactly the same thing and core theme functions are either deprecated or not added properly. There are plugins, free plugins to test the compatibility and functionality of your theme. why are reviewers accepting such crappy code?

HTML templates

Did anyone care to look at the number of javascript files included in some of the major approved themes? did anyone check the javascript code if it is well written/for performance/how organized it is? because some of it is very badly written and relies on tons of already made stuff that are just used in the simplest way possible. I don’t want to mention compatibility and flexibility because it’s a delicate idea. But still, what are the reviewers looking at? design, html&CSS validation and if the menus are ul li ? I obviously don’t know the coding standards theme forest uses but from what I can see they are accepting, they are not nearly as high as half of the design standards.

Thoughts? Am I wrong? please expand :)

7207 posts
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 5-6 years
  • Sold between 10 000 and 50 000 dollars