171 posts
  • Has referred 1+ members
  • Has sold $40,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 1+ items on Envato Market
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 4 years
+2 more
MsTrends says

Hey,

Hope you people are fine. I’m a WordPress author here. I’m going to team up with another author who have one Tumblr theme in his account. About 1.5 months ago, we had decided and agreed to submit its WordPress version from my account. WordPress version is now ready to be submitted by me.

Now, the issue is, the other author is concerned about his copyrights. He needs confirmation that, by uploading WordPress version of his Tumblr version, from my account, his copyrights are not affected.

Now the question is what security did envato provide in such case to both authors? I’ve opened a ticket for envato to explain in this regard but I request all the fellow authors too to discuss the issue in some detail. Because anybody can face such situation in future. :)

112 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 1 year
  • Has been a beta tester for an Envato feature
  • Located in Europe
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
Vlajki says

Both of you should sign a contract with mutually agreed clauses that will ensure that both of you are protected from any violations in the future. In that way, if any of the parties breaches the contract, the other party will be able to take down the file by sending the contract to Envato Support. You can find some free legal documents which you can adapt to your needs over at Docracy.

171 posts
+2 more
MsTrends says

Both of you should sign a contract with mutually agreed clauses that will ensure that both of you are protected from any violations in the future. In that way, if any of the parties breaches the contract, the other party will be able to take down the file by sending the contract to Envato Support. You can find some free legal documents which you can adapt to your needs over at Docracy.