• Contributed a Tutorial to a Tuts+ Site
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 5-6 years
  • Netherlands
  • Repeatedly Helped protect Envato Marketplaces against copyright violations
  • Sold between 1 000 and 5 000 dollars
ArikB says

Lo folks,

A friend of mine asked me to design a cd leaflet\cover\inlay etc. for him. Now I am used to creating something in PS or indd with the correct bleeds, res and color mode.

The printer he’s using uses certified pdf. I have never worked with this before. I checked out http://certifiedpdf.net/home.php for now.

I need help regarding what questions I should ask the printer. So far I’ve understood that I need to figure out what profile they are using. I will be using Adobe Distiller to convert to cpdf, is this the way to go or can I use something like ‘define preset’ straight out of InDesign itself?

This is going to be one helluva adventure.

31 posts
  • Bought between 1 and 9 items
  • Canada
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
Weird says

Sorry i’ve been in the print industry for over 5 years and never heard of cpdf.

I don’t understand why printers have to over complicate things. Creating a print ready pdf isn’t that difficult.

As far as i see this looks like it could get very messy with different people submitting different specifications.

Is this new? Let me know how it goes, i may be seeing this in the future.

2201 posts
  • Author had a File in an Envato Bundle
  • Exclusive Author
  • Netherlands
ArikB says

I read through their site and it turns out they can convert to cpdf’s and do the preflight.

Basically it’s an industry standard for enterprise printers and the advantage appears to be present in the fact that pre flight changes are logged. So if you are sending the file around, everything is nice and tidy.

73 posts
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
  • Exclusive Author
  • Referred between 50 and 99 users
  • Bought between 50 and 99 items