59 posts
  • Bought between 100 and 499 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
  • Referred between 1 and 9 users
  • Sold between 100 and 1 000 dollars
  • United States
blazedd says

As a web designer I have to say I too am guilty of this.

I have seen too many themes that rely on CSS 3 properties, but don’t have an IE replacement. Thats only half way doing your job! Maybe I am just ranting, but it seems to me that too many designers rely on their product to be used in Firefox, Safari or Chrome (yeah, yeah, opera too).

Maybe a suggestion that authors would add a little effort and put some IE support to their products if they plan to use CSS 3 ?

78 posts
  • Australia
  • Beta Tester
  • Bought between 1 and 9 items
  • Exclusive Author
fredwu says

I actually wish I had the courage to drop IE support (well, at least IE6 & 7). But often than not I find myself too into make something ‘perfect’ and spend more time on solving IE issues.

30 posts
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Romania
  • Sold between 5 000 and 10 000 dollars
nfr says

I beg to differ… CSS3 is the future and we as designers have to push it. If we just keep supporting ancient history we will never move forward.

Just make sure your design works in IE6 ,7 and you’ll be fine… who care you don’t have round corners, or text shadow, or box-shadow in IE6 ? You think a IE6 users cares about a little dropshadow or some tiny transparency. To you I can make all the difrence in the world… for them it could just as well not be there.

Recommended reading: http://24ways.org/2009/ignorance-is-bliss

59 posts
  • Exclusive Author
  • United States
blazedd says

I am not saying to NOT use it! I am saying designers are TOO RELIANT on CSS 3 to carry their design. They need to still have IE support!

CSS 3 is awesome, like I said I love it!

1865 posts YOU TOUCH IT YOU BUY IT
  • Referred between 200 and 499 users
  • Has been a member for 5-6 years