• Bought between 1 and 9 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 3-4 years
  • Interviewed on the Envato Notes blog
  • Microlancer Beta Tester
  • Referred between 10 and 49 users
+3 more
OhmLab says

Among other tings, I am a classically trained chef and worked at a fairly high level within the fine dining industry for about a dozen years here in the Pacific Northwest (USA). I have always been fascinated and intrigued by traditions that include specific food items during different parts of the year across all cultures around the world. Here in the U.S., this time of year is notorious for hearty soups, slow roasted meats, indulgent pastries and many other special treats we do not really partake in at other times of the year. Today I am making a soup that takes over 12 hours to cook, and some homemade bread, and it leaves the whole neighborhood drooling a bit ;) This is one of my traditional meals that is at the top of the request list of friends and family alike.

I would like to know what dishes you make around this time of year that fill your home with irresistible odors (or what mom used to make, if you don’t cook), and what smells make you think of during this festive time. Our sense of smell is one of the oldest and best developed senses we have. Although grey, wet and at times a touch depressing, these famous Oregon winter months do coax us back into the kitchen where we remember just how nice it is to take our time crafting something that only gets better with each passing year.

It’s nice to get to know our fellow creatives from around the world a little better. And food is universal, so sound off and let us know what’s cooking in your home!

308 posts
  • Exclusive Author
  • Netherlands
Pandebus says

Now, this is a thread to my liking :)