205 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 3 years
  • Has referred 10+ members
  • Has sold $10,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has been a beta tester for an Envato feature
+4 more
acuredreamgift says

I saw few files that feature custom and user friendly control panel, and I was wondering how it’s done… Like someone mentioned in one of the threads, I think that they could be awesome help for people that are first time AE users, so I’d like someone who is familiar with that, to explain or give some tips on where to start with learning. It probably requires scripting, but I’m ready to learn as I have some basic knowledge of C++ and C#, so programming is not something that I’m afraid of. I just don’t enjoy doing it. Duh… Latest file that I saw that features this type of control panel is latest file from IronykDesign.

149 posts
  • Has referred 1+ members
  • Has sold $5,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
+3 more
davidossahdez says

It’s very impressive! Here’s what I think is going on- lots of expression controls- color, checkbox. Parenting source text parameters between text layers (text that changes in the menu changes in the lower 3rd). It’s not too difficult to do, but you do need a different mindset to pull it off. I’ve been adopting this type of approach to my templates recently.

Well, that is exactly what I did. In my project “Digital Midnight” all the controls are parented and linked with their respective effects all over the place. They act in the same way as the After Effects sliders, but they are a little more eye catching. (I think that this is a benefit from a business POV. At the moment, it only gives a more professional look) Also, the text layers shares their source text property, as you guessed. This approach to develop this Control Panel took me only 4 or 5 days but it wasn’t my initial plan.