• Sold between 10 000 and 50 000 dollars
  • Referred between 10 and 49 users
  • Author had a Free File of the Month
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 5-6 years
  • Bought between 1 and 9 items
  • Repeatedly Helped protect Envato Marketplaces against copyright violations
AdamGold says

Hi :) I was wondering what do you guys do with your old items which are no longer represents your design / code level? Especially when these items have lots for purchases but a bad rating. I am asking this because as you can see my old items are really design less (I was a really bad designer when I started :D) and one of them has a bad rating (Although I answered every support question that I could). Since them I got better and I am planning on releasing couple of new themes so I wondered.. Does it ruin my name? What would you do?

Thanks Adam

4335 posts
  • Beta Tester
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Community Moderator
  • Contributed a Blog Post
  • Contributed a Tutorial to a Tuts+ Site
  • Exclusive Author
  • Grew a moustache for the Envato Movember competition
+6 more
Reaper-Media Volunteer moderator says

I personally had a clear out of my portfolio a while ago, as you probably noticed, for exactly the same reason that you are considering doing the same. My answer to you is this, if a file is getting little or no sales, or the support upkeep is not worth the income, ditch the files ;)

It will be interesting to see other people’s feedback on this :-)

384 posts
  • Elite Author
  • Sold between 250 000 and 1 000 000 dollars
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
  • United Kingdom
  • Referred between 100 and 199 users
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Exclusive Author
EugeneO says

I wouldn’t put too much significance on the number of sales an item has done in total as deleting the item will not remove those sales from the sales total shown on your profile or in the Top Author’s list.

Really I think it comes down to a few factors: