1685 posts Time is what you desire most, but waste carelessly.
  • Sold between 100 000 and 250 000 dollars
  • Elite Author
  • Bought between 50 and 99 items
  • Referred between 100 and 199 users
  • Grew a moustache for the Envato Movember competition
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
  • Envato Studio (Microlancer) Beta Tester
  • Europe
+1 more
Firsh says

I have this weird kind of fear when I read item requests or freelanceswitch.. If they need something I haven’t done before it alerts me in some way and eventually I end up letting the project go and doing nothing at all. This fear is also blocking me in finding a job, but I prefer freelancing so it doesn’t matter that much.

I should realize that when I create something for the marketplaces it’s also mostly something that I’ve never done before (except some cases). And I actually like that when life throws problems at me (normal problems – not cashflow problems, no real-life problems) and I have to solve them by doing something new. I like to experiment. If a client asked me that they need real time video streaming that is available once the customer has paid via paypal I wouldn’t take it. But in fact I worked with media servers and paypal independently, so why not try it? Chances are I could do it. But I feel like that’s not enough. If I’m not sure then it’s no good for me :(

So I fear that I wouldn’t be able to make it and I don’t want to get embarrassed. Do any of you felt something like this too? How to change my mindset/attitude?

1030 posts Massfocus
  • Elite Author
  • Exclusive Author
  • Sold between 50 000 and 100 000 dollars
  • Bought between 100 and 499 items
  • Has been a member for 5-6 years
  • Referred between 500 and 999 users
  • Author had a File in an Envato Bundle
  • Beta Tester
+3 more
Massfocus says