3135 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
  • Has sold $1,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has been a beta tester for an Envato feature
  • Has collected 500+ items on Envato Market
+4 more
Daniel_R says

Hi creative people!! I am excited about this week since I finally doing better at time management and finally got some happy clients with so many video work around here.

I am working with this project for a private school / academy. I was shooting some interviews with teachers and kids over a greenscreen. I’m not a professional and most of my knowledge comes from books or tutorials either from “the kramer trend” or creative cow (even though I found a great book about this topic: green screen made easy)

Going to the point, I got this problem:

http://www.box.net/shared/static/xtz7l85mzi.jpg

When I do the keying in AE (using the defaul plugin Keylight) It is hard to remove a black line around the subject and usually have to increase the shrink value in keylight or the choke matte value in the simple choker effect. I believe this is due to the shadows you see in the example pic.

I know there may be a lot of factors to consider: the lighting, the equipment, the green screen etc. This fottage was taken with 2 softboxes (constant lights) to light the green screen and one key light for the subject.

I read somewhere that the minimun distance is 5’ to 6’ between the greenscreen and the subject but got the problem or not having enough space (area) to use when shooting this video. This is a problem with the location. Maybe planning the area to use ahead would help but my case is not to expect a huge location. When shooting this video, location was around 10’ W and 20’ L.

The light is constant so cannot do much with the bright in the face also. I do make sure (since constant lighting produces heat) to retouch with makeup or clean up the subject’s face sweat.