10 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
JohnnyOhmz says

Hello everyone! I’m a new author here and I have a long way to go and I’m sure I have plenty of mistakes to make. I would like to start working on making my first wordpress theme. Any tips or suggestions? Any experience stories would be great too! Should I maybe start with just a simple HTML site templete and work my way into WP? Also, How long did it take you to make your first theme? I would love to hear some feedback from the community! Thanx n advance everyone!

1 post
  • Located in Curaçao
SketPath says

Hello and welcome to ThemeForest! Even though I joined today as well. I hope you will enjoy ThemeForest like me and I do hope that we can at least receive tips and tricks, since I am dwelling around and wondering where to start myself…

216 posts
  • Has referred 50+ members
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
+3 more
visualkicks says

hmm well i recently had my first item go live.. about a month ago. it was a html template. today I was finally able to upload the wordpress version of it (although its still waiting approval from envato).

Since I’m pretty new as well, I don’t really have a lot to offer in terms of tips and tricks. But one thing I have noticed is that many people get rejected on there first attempt. Cause i feared I would also get rejected I just kept telling myself to make my item better and better. I couldn’t believe it was approved first go. So basically… when you think you are finished on your item… think again.. go back and make it better :) ... you can only benefit from doing this!

annnd yeah.. try not to have your item go live over a weekend. Try and give your items as much front page exposure as possible.

10 posts
JohnnyOhmz says