• Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 5-6 years
  • Elite Author
  • Bought between 100 and 499 items
  • Referred between 100 and 199 users
  • Author had a Free File of the Month
+5 more
CodingJack says

Flipping themes isn’t my main business, but I’ve done it a few times. As a developer, I like seeing all the “shortcodes”, “one-column/two-column”, etc. pages as it helps me to understand what the available options in the theme are. And when I see stock photos, Lorem Ipsum, etc. I’m able to think outside the box and envision my client’s content in place of it. But clients aren’t always able to do this. And I always have to tell clients, “All those menu items are pages are really put together for people like myself who understands the technical jargon. So don’t pay too much attention to it, and instead just let me know if you like the overall look of the design.”

I recently had surgery on my finger and am going to be starting expensive physical therapy. And when I visited their horrible website this morning, the first thing that crossed my mind was I should try and get these people to trade services. Sure I could just talk to them about hiring me, but it would be so much easier to just send them a few links and say “This is what your website could look like”. But I can’t really do that with most of the ThemeForest previews here because the previews are marketed to developers.

I have to imagine I’m not the only buyer who’s encountered this dilemma, and think it would be a huge advantage for theme authors to start offering two previews: One for developers, and one for non-tech customers. It sure would make pitching designs to clients a whole lot easier.

939 posts
  • Sold between 1 000 and 5 000 dollars
  • Most Wanted Bounty Winner
  • Referred between 1 and 9 users
  • Envato Studio (Microlancer) Beta Tester
  • Serbia
  • Exclusive Author
aleluja says