• Has referred 10+ members
  • Has sold $75,000+ on Envato Market and is now an Elite Author
  • Has been a beta tester for an Envato feature
  • Has collected 100+ items on Envato Market
+6 more
smudgethis says

I just got this comment on my profile…

“Hello,

I wanted to have a promo for my website and I brought this. I thought I will get some executable file which I can run by update text to produce a nice video. But I don’t see anything. I have a windows operating system. Please can you let me know how I can proceed ? What are the requirements for running your application. Sorry I am complete newbie in this ? I just just brought this and unzipped and unable to proceed further. Even a video shows some kind of editor which I don’t have. Please provide some info. If this is not possible, Is it possible for refund. Please reply”

This led me to thinking, how obvious is it to buyers that what people are buying is in fact not a stand alone application but a template that requires a specific piece of software (i.e. After Effects) to customise.

To us as authors it must seem so obvious that the above message might even raise a smile but if you have no prior knowledge of motion graphics and want to create a video without the experience or education on the subject, is it clear that you need Adobe After Effects to edit and render the templates available on this site?

Thoughts?

149 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 4 years
  • Has referred 1+ members
  • Has sold $10,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
+1 more
didgi says

hi,

yes,i know what you mean.The same thing happened to me a couple of times now. Well,i don’t know really what to say there but in my opinion, it’s more than obvious when you buy an After Effects template here.You need Æ because the category is called ‘After Effects Project Files’.