12 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
hubscot says

Hi

I just want to ask. I have a site but I want to redesign in Wordpress. How do I design it when the site is already using the root folder? Further, if I use a wordpress “under construction” theme, and it’s set live – how do I then start working on the same web address with a new wordpress theme?

Can the current site stay live while I re-design or do I need to upload an under construction in the interim?

I did think about creating the wordpress account under a sub folder and then perhaps moving it to he root, but I’m new to ftp and not sure which folder to move where…. I tried it once and ** it up! Had to get help!

Further if I can be so cheeky can you also comment on security relating to wordpress and how to protrect against hackers as I’ve read a few times that it’s wide open in that regard. I know there are security plugins – any I should use as a “must have”...?

I’m also very interested in using the admin panel themes…..can I also ask where these are loaded too. I came across them by accident today and am well impressed.

I’m a newby so please be specific and clear.

Thanks all in advance for your time and assistance.

Happy New Year!

Sx

12 posts
hubscot says

Guess it’s too much of a stupid question…....will try work out on my own then….... ;o(

1 post
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 4 years
  • Has collected 1+ items on Envato Market
Daisybird says

No, not a stupid question! I too am new to all of this and also need help. Be patient. I would think that in this world of shared creativity someone will be kind enough to answer your questions.

While I’m not sure this is the correct answer, contact your host and figure out how to created a sub-domain and then do all of your work there before you go “live.” In the meantime, load the “under construction” to your live site.

17 posts