2065 posts Don't Worry, Be Happy
  • Trendsetter
  • Weekly Top Seller
  • Exclusive Author
  • Elite Author
+9 more
FinalDestiny
says

And on the marketplaces other than ThemeForest, the “Home” link is somewhere among those logos, if you’re an old member, you’ll reach it(but it’s still annoying and hard to do so), but if you’re a new member, sorry, but there’s absolutely no chance you’ll know how to get back to the homepage.

http://prntscr.com/2ape0b

Don’t tell me the first think the user will do is to search for the PhotoDune marketplace and click on it to get to the homepage. He’d arrive either on ThemeForest(and obviously leave almost instantly) or on the envato marketplaces..and quit as well.

This is basic UX, one does not add the “Home” logo/url in the middle of the page. The visitor probably doesn’t even know the website’s name if he’s there for the first time, he has no idea what ThemeForest or CodeCanyon is…

It’s so sad that nobody’s listening.

536 posts
  • Collector Level 1
  • Envato Team
  • Australia
  • 3 Years of Membership
+1 more
justinfrench
Envato team
says

The silence from staff on this subject is disappointing… we are not complaining for no reason.

Just a quick note to say that I’m still listening, still reading every word :)

2065 posts Don't Worry, Be Happy
  • Trendsetter
  • Weekly Top Seller
  • Exclusive Author
  • Elite Author
+9 more
FinalDestiny
says

listening is not enough :( There was so much feedback provided and no official reply. We didn’t get even the opacity quickfix, which would have been a little bit better.

1832 posts
  • Beta Tester
  • Trendsetter
  • United States
  • Copyright Ninja
+6 more
plugindistrict
says

Just a quick note to say that I’m still listening, still reading every word :)

I never said you weren’t listening :) There’s some great advice from successful web designers just in this thread. Imagine if you did a contest for the best front page redesign with a $10k bounty.

I wouldn’t complain if I didn’t love envato :)

1001 posts
  • Elite Author
  • Author Level 9
  • Top Monthly Author
  • Trendsetter
+9 more
LCweb
says

listening is not enough :( There was so much feedback provided and no official reply. We didn’t get even the opacity quickfix, which would have been a little bit better.

+1

Oh I was forgetting, directly from my experience. Recently I searched and purchased an item and as usual, to move from an item to the Codecanyon homepage, I clicked in the top-left angle of the website.

First time I moved to Envato landing page, the second one on themeforest logo (that is just under the Envato one). This is pretty annoying.

And I am an Elite author, I live here and see every pixel for 12 hours a day. How can a new customer take advantage of this arrangement?

536 posts
  • Collector Level 1
  • Envato Team
  • Australia
  • 3 Years of Membership
+1 more
justinfrench
Envato team
says

listening is not enough :( There was so much feedback provided and no official reply. We didn’t get even the opacity quickfix, which would have been a little bit better.

We’re listening to the feedback/concerns carefully, watching metrics really closely and building up a list of possible next steps.

We obviously don’t consider this design finished, so you will definitely see some tweaks and iterations soon. I’ll have a more detailed post soon (middle of next week, earlier if possible), and I’d love to ship a tweak to the opacity really soon.

536 posts
  • Collector Level 1
  • Envato Team
  • Australia
  • 3 Years of Membership
+1 more
justinfrench
Envato team
says

When I’m on videohive and I click on that logo and you need to send me to the landing page (which is another issue we should discuss) but, if you send me there at least put the search bar on the videohive files option!

That’s a great insight, I totally agree. If we stick with this kind of structure, we should definitely use the referring site to pre-select the best search option.

536 posts
  • Collector Level 1
  • Envato Team
  • Australia
  • 3 Years of Membership
+1 more
justinfrench
Envato team
says

Also please to remove the stupid massive welcome box and authors you follow area. Just run a full width welcome to “name of marketplace” + tagline and get straight to search and products – I would create mockups (like I’ve done in the past years) but I’m really not willing to waste my time – and by that I mean falling on deaf ears.

I can’t promise we’ll implement exactly what you’re proposing, but I can promise that it won’t fall on deaf ears. If you have any previous mock-ups floating around, I’d love to take a look. We’ve been considering something that sounds similar.

1406 posts
  • 3 Years of Membership
  • Affiliate Level 5
  • Author Level 8
  • Beta Tester
+9 more
Pricop
says


listening is not enough :( There was so much feedback provided and no official reply. We didn’t get even the opacity quickfix, which would have been a little bit better.

We’re listening to the feedback/concerns carefully, watching metrics really closely and building up a list of possible next steps.

We obviously don’t consider this design finished, so you will definitely see some tweaks and iterations soon. I’ll have a more detailed post soon (middle of next week, earlier if possible), and I’d love to ship a tweak to the opacity really soon.

Why don’t you guys simply restore the old menu back until you fix/improve the current one? Also is this going so slow?

Maybe next time you’ll put the design work trough some review process before releasing it to the masses, and even keep it privately for a few days/weeks before releasing it, for example it could be something like http://codecanyon.net?newmenu=true and see how your users reacts to the change.

2792 posts Bird is the word..
  • Top Monthly Author
  • Trendsetter
  • Weekly Top Seller
  • United States
+11 more
jonathan01
says


Also please to remove the stupid massive welcome box and authors you follow area. Just run a full width welcome to “name of marketplace” + tagline and get straight to search and products – I would create mockups (like I’ve done in the past years) but I’m really not willing to waste my time – and by that I mean falling on deaf ears.
I can’t promise we’ll implement exactly what you’re proposing, but I can promise that it won’t fall on deaf ears. If you have any previous mock-ups floating around, I’d love to take a look. We’ve been considering something that sounds similar.

Hey Justin, thanks for your reply. I did some several years ago on the forums showing how in the future search would be #1 priority for the marketplaces as exposure would continue to decrease as author and product count would increase and you can’t just keep adding more thumbs to the homepage. I would search the forums but… yeah I never get results :) I doubt I’ll have them anymore locally unfortunately.

I only said things fall on deaf ears as it’s be par for the course for a few years now Justin. Again not a personal attack, just actual fact. We’re all busy, just like you guys at HQ, unfortunately however, if we don’t keep producing items and offer support with our time we don’t get paid by Envato, and in the end they should be the ones making informed decisions using the correct people with the correct experience and steer the ship.

I’ve been a member here for 6 years now, and I along with countless others have given advise, mockups, suggestions and even pleaded to get things fixed or updated and it’s just not happened. Eventually you get to the “I can’t be bothered” stage…

I’m more than willing to discuss via email and offer further mockups if I know it’s taken seriously though. I’m not saying my ideas are the ones you should go with at all, it’s a community and a community of experts, all we ask is that you listen to this experience as a company from your users and take it in to account when making decisions – it makes the best companies in the world as we all know! :)

Jonathan

by
by
by
by
by
by