3 posts
  • Has been a member for 6-7 years
swaymedia says

Hi, im a big fan of all the envato websites since the start of the psdtuts days. im a wordpress theme designer and i thought that i could do something here with theme forest, the problem is i just realised that 25% FOR THE ITEM YOU SELLS . i thought it was 25% commision that themeforst gets. but its the 25% i get, which absoltyl nothing for a wordpress theme.

please help explaijn thanks alit

4901 posts
  • Senior Reviewer
  • Support Staff
  • Envato Staff
  • United States
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 7-8 years
  • Sold between 5 000 and 10 000 dollars
+6 more
MarkBrodhuber Staff says

You start at 25%...After agreeing to become exclusive (items you upload here can ONLY be sold here…you can still upload different items elsewhere) you jump up to 35%. Then every specific $$ sold you go up one percent each time. All the way to 50%. I also believe if you do not become exclusive you will remain at 25% regardless of $$ sold.

Scroll down on this page to see the exact breakdown. Payment Rates

It seems a bit low at first…but you are getting a high traffic marketplace, all the advertising, and not having to handle any of the other business stuff besides actually creating the theme taken care of for you. As you climb up the percentage ladder you will realize the rates are reasonable…there are a bunch of authors on FD already making 50% and are pretty successful financially, doing so.

352 posts
  • Author had a File in an Envato Bundle
  • Author had a Free File of the Month
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 5-6 years
  • Referred between 50 and 99 users
  • Sold between 10 000 and 50 000 dollars
+1 more
danharper says

Exactly. I thought it was a bit low at first, but then I realised that by using TF I ’d be getting a lot more sales.