5 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 1 year
  • Has collected 1+ items on Envato Market
RoPadel says

I have inherited a client that is using a theme from Themeforest. The original developer of the site is unavailable to answer my question and I have asked it of both the theme developer and Envato support, but have been unable to get a response from either. I am new to Themeforest myself.

My client has no information about the licensing for the theme. Can anyone tell me what sort of information a developer would normally supply to a client about a theme purchased on their behalf? If they have not been given anything, do I have to work on the basis that without proof, the theme is now not licensed for use on the website?

Thanks for any light anyone can throw on this. I have searched the forums and read some of the licensing information available, but have not been able to find anything that will answer this very specific question.

632 posts
  • Has referred 50+ members
  • Has sold $40,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has been a beta tester for an Envato feature
  • Has collected 100+ items on Envato Market
+5 more
UBLThemes says

With out a purchase code I doubt the developer will support you.

As an author myself I have users who illegally use the theme and ask for support stating its not theirs, it’s their clients and can not get the product code.

I’m not saying you are one of these people, but this is the reason for purchase codes.

Contacting the author by your account and not the account who purchased the item will let the author know you you are not the licence holder which will most likely mean you won’t get a response straight away… If at all if you are asking for support without a licence.

The best bet is to ask your client for the account login for theme forest.

Without proof of the licence I think that the licence is deemed invalid

Sorry to put a downer on things.

Good luck and hope you find a solution

5 posts
RoPadel says