thevisualscience Recent Posts Threads Started
22 posts
  • United States
  • Has been a member for 5-6 years
  • Sold between 1 000 and 5 000 dollars
  • Exclusive Author
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
thevisualscience says

Hello, I am looking for a good resource to learn front end web development. What is the best way to learn? I am ready to hit this thing running and learn but don’t know where to begin. Anyone know of a good website to learn with some structure? Thanks for all the help.

123 posts
  • Bought between 1 and 9 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
  • Referred between 1 and 9 users
  • United Kingdom
adam_robinson says

How much do you know already? Or are you a complete beginner?

thevisualscience
22 posts
  • United States
  • Exclusive Author
thevisualscience says

Thanks for the reply, I know basic html. That’s it.

38 posts
  • Exclusive Author
  • Germany
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
iKreateIt says

Hi there!

I can only tell you how I started out and what was the best way to learn for me, your taste might be different.

I started out by reading a book on HTML and learning the basics there. You said you know that already. I think the next step would be to learn CSS , since it’s integral to developing websites.

While HTML is responsible for the structure, CSS makes it look awesome (and people buy your stuff eventually ;) ).

I would recommend grabbing a book on CSS and just working your way through. Even though I know CSS in and out, I got myself “CSS-The Missing Manual” for christmas and think it would be great for a beginner as well. If you’ve never worked with CSS , that should be one of your basic readings. You’ll be up and running in no time.

Why a book? There are of course many websites out there that can teach you the basics:
http://www.w3schools.com/css/
http://www.w3.org/Style/CSS/
http://www.csszengarden.com/
http://www.utexas.edu/learn/css/