6 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 6 years
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
  • Located in Sweden
cyberzorro says

Hi, I’m a photographer looking for a new website to showcase my portfolio. Didn´t find anything here on themeforest so far. It should be responsive design with “flash like” flow but not Wordpress. I have found a minimalist flash site on the internet which I like very much, the question is if it could be coded in html 5, css, javascript?

http://www.jamesdayphoto.com
767 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
  • Has sold $1,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 50+ items on Envato Market
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
+2 more
outandouter says

Well, most of it can be coded in HTML 5, CSS and Javascript and the transition between pages, too, can be achieved with AJAX.

That being said, its not easy to match the level of fluidity of Flash because of how differently web browsers handle HTML.

The transition between pages, especially, is what seems to be most challenging in this case, in my opinion. You can save yourself tons of time and effort to let go this specific requirement if its feasible for you.

However, if you’re up to go extra mile to pull off this extra feat of coolness, its not impossible at all.

6 posts
  • Located in Sweden
cyberzorro says

Thank you for the reply.

I did a quick Google regarding the smooth transition between pages I’m looking for in my website and found this link:

http://www.onextrapixel.com/2010/02/23/how-to-use-jquery-to-make-slick-page-transitions/

Check out the demo. Exactly this is what I’m looking for, so maybe it’s not so difficult after all..

767 posts
+2 more
outandouter says

Yes, the link that you provided does indeed present a simple solution.