• Bought between 50 and 99 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 5-6 years
  • Referred between 1 and 9 users
  • Sold between 100 and 1 000 dollars
  • United Kingdom
Dynumo_Interactive says

Hello,

I have a sister with a diploma in music, and we have been thinking about starting a music business for some time now. While I would be doing the marketing side of things (like making the music videos), she was to be composing.

As she currently doesn’t have the necessary software she would like to work with (I’m sure you’s know what software can cost, lol), we’ve decided to try and find some composers we can partner with to help us start off.

The composers would be paid a percentage from the net profits resulting from their song, which would be negotiable (we’re currently thinking around 20%). We would be looking for them to be able to create the backing music to a professional quality, and possibly provide notation as well. Also if they were able to come up with decent lyrics, that would be desirable (and likely to add to their profit share).

What we will do then is find a singer/band to play this song, and produce a video for it for distribution across the internet on sites like Youtube and Vimeo.

After we have done this, we will also produce a website for the band, and start to sell the music tracks for it on digital sites like Amazon and itunes. Furthermore, if a song does well enough, we would plan to have cd’s printed of it and try to distribute it to retail outlets.

The sort of genres we are interested in are pop, punk, hip-hop and swing, and would like songs with strong credentials for earning royalties in the future, if they were successful enough.

Is anybody here interested in working with us, and if so what sort of profit share might you’s look for (bearing in mind that shares also have to go to the singer/band, me for marketing, promotion and sales and my sister for technical assistance with the music as well as accounts).