444 posts
  • Bought between 1 and 9 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
  • United Kingdom
TahaH-Studio says

hey guys.

I’m trying to write a function in wordpress which basically counts posts number by a certain author in a certain category. After digging into wordpress’s database I found that the way to approach that using MySQL queries to select some bit from tables to and use it to select bit from other tables. The following code is the code I wrote for this function. The problem that in line 16, I tried storing series of IDs that was imported from another table in one variable. I was expecting it to function the same way that it would when I echo it. But it didn’t, It only gave me the last ID that was imported from the other table. which then result in counting one post only by each author.

Here is the code below and excuse me, my english is bad and im still a beginner in php and mysql if you found that was done in a stupid way :D

function get_post_count() {
    global $wpdb;

$term_id = $wpdb->get_results("SELECT term_id FROM {$wpdb->prefix}terms WHERE slug='myCatSlug'");
    foreach($term_id as $tr_id)
    $tri = $tr_id->term_id;

$tax_id = $wpdb->get_results("SELECT term_taxonomy_id FROM {$wpdb->prefix}term_taxonomy WHERE term_id=$tri");
    foreach($tax_id as $tx_id)
    $txi = $tx_id->term_taxonomy_id;

$obj_id = $wpdb->get_results("SELECT object_id, term_taxonomy_id FROM {$wpdb->prefix}term_relationships WHERE term_taxonomy_id=$txi ORDER BY object_id ASC");
    foreach($obj_id as $o)

// The whole problem is here
    $obj_i = "'".$o->object_id."',";

$query = "SELECT COUNT(id), post_type, post_status, post_author FROM {$wpdb->prefix}posts WHERE post_type='post' AND post_status='publish' AND id IN($obj_i) GROUP BY post_author"; 

$result = mysql_query($query) or die(mysql_error());

while($row = mysql_fetch_array($result)){
        echo "<br />";
        echo "There are ". $row['COUNT(id)'] ." Posts By ". $row['post_author'];