733 posts All things are possible, for one who believes.
  • Won a competition
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
  • Located in Canada
  • Has sold $500,000+ on Envato Market
+8 more
TimMcMorris says

I’ve been an author for a little while now, and have always wondered in the back of my mind if there would be a point where there exclusive portfolios / authors percentage should be raised (as well as the non-exclusive rates actually).

There is without a doubt a lot of exposure that is given being on the marketplaces, and the tiered system has been pretty fair I believe – however with new growth and new sales barriers being smashed all the time, do you think it’s time to raise the max limit to 80% for exclusive and industry standard for non-exclusive?

When an author first starts out, they have to climb the ranks just like everyone else. When you start selling massive amounts of files like the very top ThemeForest authors for example, the attention the authors are attracting is almost more of an asset to Envato now and the tables are switched.

Many, many authors have worked incredibly hard and have invested into the Envato network just as if they owned the company. I personally think it’s time for another percentage range. Maybe this could be tied into an additional benefit of the Elite Author program, even if reaching the 80% point means selling 1M. Maybe it will take quite some time, but you can do so knowing you’re working toward a brighter future.

What do you guys think?

2268 posts Bird is the word..
  • Located in United States
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $500,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 6 years
+8 more
jonathan01 says

I agree 100% with what you are saying but I can also see this from the opposite side and the first thing that’s an issue is the affiliate program percentage on top of 80% would be over 100% – therefore that would cost Envato money.