12 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 4 years
Eldian says

Any author here started with no formal training or education or got their career started in a different field?

I ask because I went to school for something unrelated to web design/web development but always find myself intrigued with it.

1799 posts
  • Has referred 1+ members
  • Has sold $5,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has been a beta tester for an Envato feature
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
+4 more
BroOf says

A lot of people here don’t have a special education. I learned it when I was about 15-16 with no help of teachers.

67 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
  • Has sold $10,000+ on Envato Market
+2 more
Headset says

My school was (and still is) the web :), I studied Political Sciences.

7 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 7 years
  • Has collected 1+ items on Envato Market
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
Elab says
A lot of people here don’t have a special education. I learned it when I was about 15-16 with no help of teachers.

Same here. I found the education system with the web world is very outdated. A lot of us were coding WP way before any of the schools caught on. Now it seems the some of the graduates come to some of us for answers. Go figure.

2952 posts
  • Has referred 200+ members
  • Has sold $125,000+ on Envato Market
  • Had an item featured in an Envato Bundle
+10 more
DDStudios says

Same here , I started designing full time 5 month ago. Always been curious about computer and I found my dream job :)

Lynda.com is an excellent excellent ressources if you want to learn , and it’s really cheap.

And also all the Tuts website from Envato !

206 posts
  • Has referred 50+ members
  • Has sold $40,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 50+ items on Envato Market
+2 more
mlando says