19 posts
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
Jonathan_Vivid says

Okay, I just got into all the screen casts this site offers. I completed Days 1-4 of the WordPress for Designers series by Drew Douglass. I’m following along the videos just fine, but I’m no expert in php. I’m wondering if I should pause the WordPress screen casts and start watching Jeffrey’s php screen casts.

In general, I’m a little overwhelmed, and I’m not sure what screen casts I should start with, as there are so many topics to choose from. I’d really appreciate some guidance. Thanks so much.

~Jonathan

Basic Info: I run Windows, I can work my way around html/css, but I’m no expert yet. Php is new to me, I’ve never used SQL or any database type things before following these tutorials by Drew.

If someone could just provide the order in which I should watch the screencasts, that would be most helpful. (WP, SQL , jQuery, php, etc).

^^

659 posts
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 5-6 years
  • Referred between 50 and 99 users
  • Sold between 10 000 and 50 000 dollars
  • United States
luckykind says

yes… you should know and have good working knowledge with the languages before diving into Wordpress… that is if you’re going to be designing for it and want to be good at it…

if you’re not already pretty good with HTML /CSS… stick with that until you’ve got it down, then move on to scripting ->Javascript/JQuery… then move on to PHP /MySQL… then when you’ve spent some time building sites with all of those languages… then dive into the ins & outs of Wordpress… have fun, buckle up, don’t get frustrated… :)

19 posts
Jonathan_Vivid says

Thanks so much, Lucky! :] Basically, I should be able to build fully functional sites without WP before designing WP themes? Gotcha. I’ll focus a little more on the basics then.

Someone had told me to leave Javascript/JQuery for the last thing to learn, but I’ll follow your guide instead. :]