828 posts
    Has been part of the Envato Community for over 1 year Has referred 1+ members Has sold $100+ on Envato Market Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
+4 more
uziiuzair says

Hey guys

Recently, I was planning on starting my own server, as I do not feel safe on shared hosting.

I have some of the things ready, a static IP a good internet package With a speed of 80mbps.

I have an i7 computer running ubuntu as well.

But the thing is, I have no experience in hosting my own server plus I’m not sure of what software to use, Ubuntu Server or Ubuntu Cloud.

the server would be for a project I’m working on not for hosting a website.

84 posts
    Has collected 1+ items on Envato Market Sells items exclusively on Envato Market Located in Europe Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
djariss says

I’m using dedicated server, you can install you own server with ISPConfig control panel, this panel is good and it’s free.

There is also nice website offering tutorials on how to install your own server with Ubuntu+LAMP+ISPConfig panel, more at www.howtoforge.com

Hope this could help you to decide.

:)

828 posts
    Has been part of the Envato Community for over 1 year Has referred 1+ members Has sold $100+ on Envato Market Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
+4 more
uziiuzair says

Thanks for the link :D
Is an internet speed of 80mbps fast enough?

84 posts
    Has collected 1+ items on Envato Market Sells items exclusively on Envato Market Located in Europe Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
djariss says

Yes, that speed is enough, but the questions stands, is it flat rate or you got some monthly bandwidth in Gb/Tb?

27 posts
    Has collected 50+ items on Envato Market Located in United Kingdom Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
ThorneMedia says