• Sold between 100 000 and 250 000 dollars
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
  • Exclusive Author
  • Referred between 10 and 49 users
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Envato Studio (Microlancer) Beta Tester
  • Europe
ThemeVillage says

Hi, I’m a new author on ThemeForest. I want my themes to clean. I want them ultimately to be modularized.

For example if you want a “portfolio”, you’ll enable “Pure Portfolio” plugin, and you’ll get your portfolio custom post type (and not have it registered within the theme).

But this means that I have to rely on the buyer to install the Portfolio plugin. Furthermore, I recently saw somewhere around here a note from Envato, that authors shouldn’t advertise that the theme contains a feature, if the feature is a plugin. In my (ultimate) goal, this would mean, that I could present my themes just as a plain-blog theme, because the custom functionality would rely on Plugins.

Another example. There are a gazzilion good plugins for displaying Maps in Wordpress. Why in the world would I develop my own shortcode for that, when “MapPress” has evolved to version 2.4 and I could just support the styling for that (which a theme should do, instead of trying to imitate a plugin). Instead, I see myself rolling out a maps shortcode, just to be able to tell users/buyers “I haz maps”.

At the moment I’m a bit frustrated with where the theme marketplace is going with the feature bloat. I think we (as developers) have the responsibility to educate our users/clients/buyers in Wordpress functionality (like plugins), instead of including half-baked plugins into the theme folders (I’m not going to point my finger anywhere here, but I’ve seen themes here do that)