17 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 3 years
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
quosik says

I think it’s time to discuss and remind Envato of rating system that is still missing essential features. I’ve been suggesting this for 2 years now and I’ve been told by Envato Support that it’s “in the pipeline” or it’s “future plan”. But when is it going to happen? I think it’s such an important update for ALL authors…

The problem is not actually “rating system” but some customers that require special treatment. See my screenshot for possible solution and actual problems that authors are encountering. Isn’t it easy to change?

\\ LARGE IMAGE

Main changes I would suggest are:
  • Add necessary comments when some rates items less than 5 stars.
  • For me 1-star rating is when you don’t get item at all or it’s faulty (see ebay ratings for reference). In case of Envato marketplaces both 1 & 2 can’t occur because you always get an item and it’s always working one! Review ensures that. Review also ensures great quality of items – so why would anyone rate anything 1 star? Or 2 stars? Perhaps only because they don’t know how to use it… If someone rates something 1 star – perhaps ignore such rating? It must be always mistaken. None of the items on Envato marketplaces deserve it.
  • Change average rating to median?
  • Why only 20% of TOP100 TF authors have 5 stars ratings? Isn’t it inaccurate? I purchased items from them – I’m familiar with WordPress and I had literary 0 problems with support and themes they offer. I always rated them 5 stars.
  • Delete past ratings – leave only ratings from current items or from past year or two.
  • Give authors opportunity to review/update items based on client feedback and have clients re-rate items.

The main problem: poor ratings often come from inexperienced customers and not faulty items. And if they come from faulty items – items usually get updated and ratings don’t.

Let’s discuss!

2541 posts