5 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 4 years
  • Has collected 1+ items on Envato Market
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
haopei says

Hello,

I am a web developer, I can hold my own in HTML /CSS, but not very well in photoshop. Is it possible for me to purchase a template from ThemeForest, and resell it as my work to my clients? I will be offering customizing and other support, of course.

I’m thinking that this will be similar to outsourcing, but I get the feeling it is ethically wrong.

(Just to be clear, I am talking about blatantly presenting my client with a theme from ThemeForest (the client will not know that the theme is from ThemeForest, nor its cost), and if he likes it, I will purchase it, customize it, and manage it for an additional profit margin.)

1028 posts
  • Has referred 500+ members
  • Has sold $500,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 50+ items on Envato Market
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
+6 more
ThemeBlvd says

Can you? Sure, you can. You are free to go out and scam whoever you want, I guess.

And yes, I would consider presenting a client with a design that was purchased from a template website as an original design a scam. There is a difference between an originally designed website and one that comes from a template that anyone on the internet has access to buy. Taking this decision out of your client’s hands by keeping it from them would be scamming them.

402 posts I <3 WordPress
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has sold $250,000+ on Envato Market
  • Won a competition
+9 more
BoxyStudio says