• Attended a Community Meetup
  • Contributed a Blog Post
  • Exclusive Author
  • Referred between 50 and 99 users
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
+2 more
PhilLarson says

Hey guys, can you help me out?

I’m no expert when it comes to audio gear. In fact the whole audio thing is still rather new to me and I’m learning a lot. But I’m more of an expert with drum gear… I know my limits, so I need your help.

I have a budget around $400 (could possibly go to $500). What advice could you give me for new studio monitors at that range? I’m afraid I would be compromising my low-end frequencies at that price point. Would it be better to hold off until my budget is around $1000 or so?

I found this deal – Two KRK Rokit 8’s WITH stands and free shipping for $500 ($250 each):
http://www.americanmusical.com/Item--i-KRK-RP8G2-LIST?src=Y0802G00SRCHCAPN&gclid=CMTVhJDe_rQCFckWMgodR0oAmQ

Good idea? Bad idea? I have a close friend who is a producer at Sweetwater Studios who suggested I save up for the KRK VXT6’s and the 10” KRK sub. All together that would be about $1,300. Worth the wait?

What do you recommend? Any advice is welcome! Thank you! :)

Phil

575 posts
  • Sold between 50 000 and 100 000 dollars
  • Referred between 1000 and 1999 users
  • Author had a File in an Envato Bundle
  • Has been a member for 3-4 years
  • Exclusive Author
  • United States
Sophonic says

I have learned to just buy the exact set up I want, cause I just end up wasting money later when I sell used to get the thing I really wanted in the first place. Even though sometimes it might be overkill for what we need, mentally it feels better.

I think you would be just fine with the 8’s and a sub if it can be added.

I got KRK Rokit 6’s and I love them, although I don’t have much to compare them to, they have been my first and only studio monitors. I see more and more KRK monitors in peoples studio pictures all the time, they seem to be taking over the lower budget studio world.

365 posts