• Most Wanted Bounty Winner
  • Repeatedly Helped protect Envato Marketplaces against copyright violations
  • Envato Studio (Microlancer) Beta Tester
  • Interviewed on the Envato Notes blog
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
+3 more
ShermanJackson says

Are you a self taught designer or did you go to Art school???

I am a self taught designer. Unfortunately, in India we dont have good design colleges/schools or learning centres.

703 posts
  • Canada
  • Has been a member for 2-3 years
  • Sold between 1 000 and 5 000 dollars
  • Referred between 10 and 49 users
  • Bought between 1 and 9 items
  • Exclusive Author
EliIsakov says

Started at the age of 12 :P….....then at the age of 18 I went to Web-Design in College…still in the course…graduating next year :)...but I like doing Graphic Designs, Photo Editing, more :P

523 posts
  • Author had a File in an Envato Bundle
  • Author had a Free File of the Month
  • Bought between 50 and 99 items
  • Contributed a Blog Post
  • Contributed a Tutorial to a Tuts+ Site
  • Denmark
+5 more
Zeplix says

A bit of a mix I suppose?

I am self-taught in pretty much all the software, and started messing around with photo manipulation when I was around 13/14’ish. Then went to Business School, wasn’t for me, got tutoring under a painter, then got into The Danish Design School at 24 or something like that, where I took my Bachelors in Visual Communication, and I’m now taking my Masters at The Royal Danish Art Academy.

Have I learned a whole lot in school? Yes and no. It’s definitely helped me view the industry different, give me the right vocabulary to communicate with other designers, connect with other designers, design theory, and given me good projects to work on. What I still just taught myself, is actually doing the design.