6 posts
femeia says

Hi Everybody,

my first post here :) I’m working on a HTML template. I’ve seen that not only the Wordpress themes, but also most of the templates, have a blog section.

I wonder how do authors without PHP knowledge (are there any?) explain to the client (in the tutorial that comes together with the template) how to use the blog section.

I’m asking because I’m able to make a template, but not a theme yet – I’m just starting to learn about Wordpress theme development and I really don’t know how to approach this issue. I suppose I should explain somehow to the buyer how to make the blog work? Or do you just provide an info like “and here goes the PHP, you know what to do” ?

Help appreciated!

3857 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 4 years
  • Has collected 500+ items on Envato Market
  • Nominated Community Superstar of the month
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
+1 more
charlie4282 says

I think you just need to flag that what is there is a template to make posts and the master blog page BUT to sync them together would require extra PHP customization which is standard for HTML templates.

If you want to link to tutorials or offer the service privately that’s cool but never assume buyers will be experts and use phrases like “you know what to do” a sit invites extra hassle for you! Good luck

6 posts
femeia says

Thnx charlie4282,

the “you know what to do” was rather ironic, I get it that the better you explain, the more likely you’ll get a good rating. I was just wondering what’s the alternative for this :)

So let me see if I got it well, you’re saying that most HTML template tutorials come with a line like “requires extra PHP customization” or similar?

3857 posts
+1 more
charlie4282 says

Ironically most don;t come with anything – either assuming buyers understand it or just avoiding bringing up something that generally requires more explanation!