Just a quick question about what happens when an author updates a template…
Do the customers who bought the old versions have the ability to re-download the template with its updates?
I think yes. The customers don’t have to pay again for an updated version. I think the old version will be replaced with the newer one.
Yeah, the old files are replaced. Customers will get the updated files if they download again.
However, I don’t know if customers are notified when a template they bought is updated.
Oh yea good question. I think it would be very useful for both sides. Where is collis ?
When a file is updated through the “Edit” tab on your item’s page, after the update is approved. Customers that have previously purchased the item can just re-download to get the updated version. Unfortunately they are not notified of the update, so all you can do is make a BOLD statement at the top of your description similar to:
File has been updated on 9/14/08 please re-download to get the latest version.
Having some sort of notification to the buyers whenever a file is updated would be AWESOME , someone should suggest it through the support form.
On my template site I have a sytem where I can choose to notifiy users of template updates.
Basically if I upload an update, customers aren’t notified of changes unless I choose to enter an update notification message. If I enter an update notification message (listing changes etc.) it just shoots a message out to all who bought the template with the message contents.
This would be really useful because I could imagine customers getting annoyed if they received emails every five mins about a lil font change or something… they’d only get notified about crucial changes.