• Author had a Free File of the Month
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 3-4 years
  • Referred between 100 and 199 users
  • Bought between 100 and 499 items
  • United States
Siiimple says

Hey all!

I just wanted to take the time to thank the ThemeForest staff and the community. It occurred to me that I’m fortunate. And I wanted to briefly tell my story.

I’ll start by mentioning that aside from designing themes I’m a professional distance runner. I understand this may sound unusual. But the point is it’s a difficult profession – namely because training is very tough, and the rewards are very little. Some years there are no rewards, and it’s difficult to maintain sponsorship in the face of injury or even illness. You basically have to compete for a living and that’s not always easy. This year, especially, has not been easy because I’ve had to face a major injury, loss of a sponsor from the previous year, and – because I’m American – rising medical expenses to treat and heal the injury.

Though it has been difficult, my wife and I had some good news and discovered we will be having a baby! So – again – being American – the financial worries set in. My family has always been supportive, so we always knew that we would be okay. My wife is an unemployed teacher, who has been working constantly to try and find a teaching position, but has always run into a dead end. After all, this America and education jobs are scarce, underfunded, and yet highly competitive.

But I want to thank ThemeForest. Since March I decided I would pursue theme development, and since I’ve had a passion for web design and development it was a natural direction to pursue. I never conceived of the possibility of 8 months or so later selling 1,200 + themes, and being able to help support my wife as she looks for employment, as I train for the Olympic Trials in January, and save for the birth our new child.