951 posts
  • Has referred 1000+ members
  • Has sold $75,000+ on Envato Market and is now an Elite Author
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
+10 more
Giallo says

I had some spare time so I just wanted to leave you a couple of suggestions, because I started from zero, 100% online self taught and alone, as many of you, and I know howw much it can be hard to design something acceptable.

The approach many of you have right now is:
- watch tutorials
- know all about Photoshop
- I’m a good graphic designer

Unfortunately is not that easy.

Many of you still think knowing perfectly Photoshop means to be a good graphic designer, but no it doesn’t work like that. Or that who sells many files here is a good graphic designer, or viceversa. but is not neither… Many Authors who made a ton of sales are terrible graphic designers, and this may confuse some of you.

Look Blogs and websites like Behance, Dribbble, FFFFOUND, Creattica etc… to try to understand what is considered good graphic design today, and you’ll see the difference with what’s here right now.

I know how many of you work: you open Photoshop or Illustrator and start to design random, with no criteria, with no concept behind, with no idea of what you’re doing, just make a remix of something you saw and liked, just copy a bit that thing that I saw and liked.

Good, but you’ll never be satisfied, neither unique or considered a designer. Once you’ll start understanding others people designs, you can start making yours.

Most common errors are inconsistency and lack of concept: if you’re making a flyer for christmas? So every line, every element, the typography, the message, the colors, must be consistent each other and linked by the main concept: the clearer it is, the better your design.

In graphic design and communication design there are 2 main aspects: -1 the concept -2 the threatment