49 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 1 year
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
  • Located in Thailand
khositeweb says

Hello, I have a question, I am subscribe to eleganttheme in licensed “Developer”, I customize one of their theme, my question, I have the right to sell the theme being customized? Sorry my english is not perfect. Thank you.

1328 posts How's the surf doing?
  • Has referred 200+ members
  • Has sold $500,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has been a beta tester for an Envato feature
+6 more
tommusrhodus says

Elegant Themes use this license: http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html

Read it carefully.

If you’re asking if you can sell a modified Elegant Themes theme here, the answer is definitely no.

49 posts
  • Located in Thailand
khositeweb says

Thank you for your answer, I’m not sure you understood my question. I do not mean to sell the theme as it is, I say sell the theme completely changed, maybe I should change the name? Thank you.

848 posts
  • Has referred 1+ members
  • Has sold $100+ on Envato Market
+4 more
uziiuzair says

It does not matter if you have customized the theme or not. Because I understand you would not be changing the design much, probably the name, color scheme, and even add a few features. But no, you can not sell the theme here even with a developers license.
I dont think you would be able to change the theme completely, if thats what you want to do, why not just make a new theme ground up? As long as the theme was designed by Elegant Themes, its their property, and all you have is a license.

543 posts
  • Has referred 10+ members
  • Has sold $10,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in Slovakia
+3 more
LubosVolovar says

+1 to uziiuzair comment