1 post
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 1 year
  • Has collected 1+ items on Envato Market
nickthornton says

I’m a content producer and need the capacity to build efficient, aestheically sound sites without having to coordinate with a programer. I bought the [name removed] theme. Here are some highlights of my experience so far:

Sliders are buggy-one has been successfully implemented, but it has to reload every time it loops to the first pic. Tedious and not acceptable.

-Shortcode generator is a flop. When it does embed a youtube or vimeo video successfully, it completely screws up the other basic functions in the text editor, like, say italicizing. One post had to be passed off to a coder to be completely revamped.

-text editor is funky, even when not embedding video.

-what’s the deal with envato only allowing you to load in $10 increments, meaning I had to pay $50 for my $45 theme, and meaning I’ll have to make another purchase to make use of my remaining $5 of credit. This is beyond shameful. It’s illegal.

This experience has been crap. As someone who doesn’t know his arse from a jar of vicks when it comes to coding, I have successfully built sites before, on wordpress, and more recently, squarespace. The latter experience wasn’t without it’s own bugs, but I can say clearly after this experience with the [name removed] theme that I will be exhausting market options before returning to theme forest, or for that matter, wordpress, and as a journalist will definitely be following up to see if my experience is unique, or if the symptoms of monopoly are deleteriously affecting the market of online publishing options.

3227 posts
  • Has sold $5,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 4 years
+1 more
organicbee says