26 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 1 year
  • Has sold $1,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
+1 more
level10 says

Hi,

I’m new to Themeforest and just submitted my first theme….it was rejected due to aesthetics. Can I please get some help on things to work on to make it acceptable?

It’s located here: Vim

I wasn’t given much more to go on other than “requires significant improvements and changes before it can be resubmitted and reconsidered”. It then goes on to say “The overall quality of your submission does not meet our aesthetic and technical requirements and will need to be improved before being resubmitted. Unfortunately, we’re unable to provide more specific feedback for your submission at this time.”

I just don’t know what needs to be done. I looked at themes on here to make sure that it wasn’t too similar to others….but maybe I overlooked something? I’m stuck.

Thanks! Seth

1476 posts
  • Has referred 1+ members
  • Has sold $10,000+ on Envato Market
  • Made it to the Authors' Hall of Fame
+3 more
OriginalEXE says

I don’t think it’s rejected because of the looks.

I checked out every page and everything seems really nice, so it’s not about that.

The problem probably is – not enough features. You don’t have typography showcase nowhere (put on one page h1, h2 etc. blockquote, lists etc).

Try to implement more elements like accordion, or tabs, or carousel or something, it just feels empty.

I can’t speak about backend but maybe that needs improvements too? Do you have standard options panel?

26 posts
+1 more
level10 says

Thanks for that info! Hopefully, that’s all it is.

470 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 3 years
  • Has referred 1+ members
  • Has sold $40,000+ on Envato Market
+3 more
virtuti says