292 posts
  • Has referred 100+ members
  • Has sold $10,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
+5 more
SchwartzSound says

Hello AudioJungle community (and others who want to join the discussion)! This is my first post, and I apologize but it’s looking to be a doozie.

I’m new to AJ (first two songs for sale, two more in review!), and as I’m sure many of you have gone through, I scoured the web looking at the best resources and possibilities for getting my sound and music out into the commercial realm. Through my search, and also from reading a few other forum posts here, I’ve made some observations and come to some (open) conclusions that struck me as rather interesting and so I’d thought I’d share, and see what others have to say about the topic of how to best/properly license sound and music.

Apparently, there is some real heated competition (maybe even bad feelings?) out there between some of these marketplaces, particularly looking at stock music, versus royalty free, versus unlimited licensing (i.e. loop kits). There are of course a lot of different factors that would make you lean one way or the other, primarily what kind of content you are really trying to sell.

One of the main points of contention of course is the money and fees. Artist/marketplace cut aside, I think the basic gist is that the artists want to get paid decently and fairly for their creative efforts, and of course customers want the best (cheapest?) deals available. I know AJ’s price points and price sharing have (and will continue) to evolve, but I’ve come across the argument that prices here are too high compared to other royalty free sites, as well as conflicting remarks that the prices are too low, even to the point of devaluing the artistic community. Here’s a pretty sharp statement from AudioSparx, a stock music/sound site that is royalty based: